Carol Williams

Emma Field Book One - Look Inside

Emma Field Book One

Emma Field has dreams and desires that call her to go beyond her father’s struggle to survive as an immigrant in Canada West in the 1840s. With the love of a few peculiar people and her own courage, she takes her first tentative steps to understanding the world around her.

Emma Field, Book One, is a story of birth and death; and of the stirrings of body and soul, the desire for beauty, the ache of loneliness, the drive for independence and the pain of envy. It is a story of love and dignity, and of the power of taking risks.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 320
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: January 2014
  • ISBN-10: 0978047494
  • ISBN-13: 978-0978047498

Emma Field Book Two

In Emma Field, Book II, the young Canadian heroine of Book I has left home and now continues her adventures in the Hudson River Valley of New York State. Arriving as a teacher at the Nine Partners Boarding School, Emma soon becomes aware of the social inequalities of mid-19th century America. She is inspired by reformers Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Lucretia Mott at the first Women’s rights convention in Seneca Falls. She then daringly assists the Quakers involved with freeing slaves on the Underground Railroad.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 274
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: February 2014
  • ISBN-10:  1928054005
  • ISBN-13: 978-1928054009
Emma Field Book Three - Look  Inside

Emma Field Book Three

In this final book of Carol E. Williams’ mid-19th century trilogy, something strong and certain is ignited in the young Emma Field as she accompanies a former slave to a new home in Canada and discovers the power of liberty, forgiveness and the ancestors. Guided by a mighty Irishman establishing a new life for former slaves in Canada, a steadfast Quaker reformer, and a wise and fiery matriarch of the displaced Seneca nation, Emma confronts her past and finds her way to a future filled with purpose and love.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 224
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: February 2014
  • ISBN-10:  1928054013
  • ISBN-13: 978-1928054016
Carol Williams

About Carol Williams

Carol Williams grew up on land swept by the winds of Lake Ontario and farmed by members of her family for two hundred years. She is the author of the much – loved Emma Field series of novels and now lives on a sheep farm in eastern Ontario.

In Her Own Words…“Several years ago, in what can only be described as a shaky state, I picked up a pencil and a spiral-bound notebook and began to write about the young Emma Field making her way through the changing times of the Industrial Revolution. As Emma and I have walked these many years together, my inner growth has nurtured hers, and her growth in the presence of integral people, real and fictional, has nurtured mine. From William King, Lucretia Mott and the Quakers, Emma and I learned about the power and energy available to those who are deeply connected to their wholeness. From spunky Jessabelle-Rose we learned how far desire and fearlessness can take a former slave-girl. And from Orenda Pierce, matriarch of the displaced Seneca nation, we learned that love, even love that has traversed generations, is a force that can heal the most broken. These books are about “place” and “belonging”, but they are also about “progress” – about breaking free of all that binds us.”

Author Links