R Patricia Capitain

What Happened on Midsummer’s Eve?

Book 3 of The de la Montagne Trilogy

The de la Montagne trilogy, a series of modern-day fairy tales, concludes with sisters Cordelia and Emma now married and ruling their “queendom” as their four children grow up. Amid threats of war from a neighbouring ruler, Midsummer Eve approaches. Suddenly, within two days of one another, the two teenage princes disappear. The Royal Household is thrown into turmoil. What happened to Prince Fidelio, the boy who was always in trouble at school and at home? And where is Prince Honour, the boy who was so dependable? While their parents try to solve the mystery, the reader follows the princes as they literally fly into adventures that are every bit as exciting and life-transforming as any their mothers experienced. Fidelio is involved in scientific research while in the Kingdom of the Forest, and Honour is submersed in the world of Poseidon, god of the sea. Both boys learn eye-opening, significant things about themselves and their roles in the world around them.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 240
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: Feb 9, 2020
  • ISBN-10: 1928045359
  • ISBN-13: 978-1928045359

The Secret of the Golden Orbs

Book 2 of The de la Montagne Trilogy

Product Details

R. Patricia Capitain has crafted another engaging story for the pre-teen reader. Princesses Cordelia and Emma’s adventures continue, laced with mysterious flying creatures, natural disasters, threatening strangers, and defenseless children. Balancing royal expectations and youthful inexperience, the girls take the reader through more lively twists and turns as they take responsibility for their actions and face the greatest adventure of all—growing up!

Maggie Wheeler, Author of the bestselling Farran Mackenzie “Lost Villages” mysteries

Purchase Links:

  • Pages: 206
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: October 8, 2016
  • ISBN-10: 1928045162
  • ISBN-13: 978-1928045168

The Princess on a Cloud

Book 1 of The de la Montagne Trilogy

Who hasn’t imagined having a double…someone who looks just like you, but whose life is so much more interesting? That’s what Cordelia and Emma, two young girls from very different backgrounds, discover one magical Midsummer’s Eve in The Princess on a Cloud: A Fairy Tale of Suspense. Cordelia and Emma, who live in the Kingdom de la Montagne, meet during the magical Midsummer Night’s Ball hosted by the Forest King. They are bewildered when they realize how much they resemble each other. With the help of Fairy Hella they switch their identities. At the end of the ball the girls go to their new homes where adventure and deception lead the way. They learn through trial and error that someone else’s life isn’t always better. The princess and the orphan both discover the importance of a promise given and experience the value of newly formed friendships. When they reunite, after having been separated for a year, they must depend on their creativity to overcome problems they hadn’t anticipated. From once upon a time to happily ever after, The Princess on a Cloud is a tale of suspense that will keep the reader hooked, wanting to read or hear one more chapter.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 138
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: December 18, 2012
  • Publisher: GSPH (General Store Publishing House)
  • ISBN-10: 1771230037
  • ISBN-13: 978-1771230032

In a Rosedale Garden

By Anne Bunty Loucks, Patricia CoveDan TraffordDorothy BushBetty CunninghamMarike HarrisR. Patricia Capitain

A family secret is unearthed by an excavator’s shovel.  In an effort to find answers,  David Montgomery uncovers more questions. They eventually lead him on a journey of discovery that turns his comfortable life into one he could never have imagined.

This is a story of intrigue and deceit that enters one generation and has its outcome in the next.  “The sins of the father shall be visited on the son.”

The Challenge: Through a Glass, Darkly

Six members of Brockville’s writers group Writers’ Ink accepted a challenge to write a book together. Writer’s Ink co-founder Anne “Bunty” Loucks wrote a novel titled In a Rosedale Garden over 20 years ago. Although it was released as a newspaper serial, it was never published as a book. The challenge accepted by the authors was to use In a Rosedale Garden as the plot, and each author would re-write their own chapter in their own style. The result is a novel titled Through a Glass, Darkly. Both novels have been combined together and published in one book. The book is titled In a Rosedale Garden but it also contains the author collaborative titled Through a Glass, Darkly.

The authors of Through a Glass, Darkly are: Anne Bunty Loucks, Patricia Cove, Dan Trafford, Dorothy Bush, Betty Cunningham, Marike Harris, R. Patricia Capitain.

Purchase Links:

Product Details

  • Pages: 204
  • Dimensions: 6 x 9 inches
  • Published: November 23, 2013
  • ISBN-10: 1492915149
  • ISBN-13: 978-1492915140
    R Patricia Capitain

About R. Patricia Capitain

R. Patricia Capitain practiced family psychotherapy for thirty years in Montreal, before becoming a freelance writer of non-fiction. In 2012, she published her first children’s book, The Princess on a Cloud. She co-published a murder mystery, Through a Glass Darkly, in 2013. The Secret of the Golden Orbs is the second book in The de la Montagne trilogy. Patricia lives with her husband, and much wildlife, in the Thousand Islands region of Ontario.